The 7 Energy Centers in the Body

The 7 Energy Centers in the Body

7 Energy Centers in the Body

I was reading on Yoga Mudras today when I was randomly reminded of someone, who follows kundalini yoga. I was reminded how she described about this yoga practice. “kundalini is quite different from the normal yoga that we do, It is more about enhancing the flow of energy or prana through the 7 chakras of our body”, she said. As I started to read more on this form of yoga, my heart began to ache to practice it. One precious feeling, which made me more certain of what I want chase in life :)

Before I talk about kundalini yoga, I want to talk about the Nadis and 7 Chakras in our body. On knowing about these nadis and chakras, you will also understand the importance of maintaining a correct posture of your spine.

We all know that blood circulates in our body through veins and arteries. Similarly there is something called energy or life force that flows in our body through Nadis (pipes). The origin of this energy are the chakras that lie along our spinal chord.

About The 7 Chakras

Charkas means whirling discs or wheels. There are 7 most important chakras in our body.

Do you ever wonder that how our emotional health or mental health affect our energy levels? For example when we are emotionally down then why do we feel very low on energy? why do we see dullness on our face? why do we attract as well as emit very negative vibes? It is because of the disturbance of the frequency of vibration of these chakras.

Our physical, mental and emotional health is one of the factor amongst others that decide the frequency at which these whirling discs vibrate. For a person, who is healthy in every way these chakras vibrate at a very high frequency. If along with that high state of vibration of chakras, they are able to maintain an erect state of our spine, then there will be a magnificent flow of energy from their root charka to crown chakra. The yogis or the people, who do real meditation, emit that glow on their face or have a kinda aura around them because of this perennial energy flowing to their head chakra. But, normal people like us, who live with hundreds of mental and emotional blocks, tend to block these chakras or reduce the frequency of vibration of these charkas. And hence are not able to experience that state of high energy bliss.

Refer to the diag above.

1. The Root Chakra

It is located at the base of spine in the tailbone area.

Energy Center for Emotional issues like : Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.

2. Sacral Chakra

It is located at the Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
Energy Center for Emotional issues like : Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

It is located in the Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

Energy Center for Emotional issues like : Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

4. Heart Chakra

It is located at the center of chest just above heart.

Energy Center for Emotional issues like : Love, joy, inner peace.

5. Throat Chakra

It is located in the Throat.

Energy Center for Emotional issues like : Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.

6. Third Eye Chakra -

It is located on the Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra).

Energy Center for Emotional issues like : Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.

7. Crown Chakra

It is located at the very top of the head.

Energy Center for Emotional issues like : Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

If we feel vulnerable or insecure or dissatisfied about any of the above emotional issues than the energy around the corresponding chakra is subsided. Huhh! may be this is the reason all ancient scriptures ask us to meditate or to stay detached because as long as there is detachment there is emotional, physical and mental satisfaction.

I am sure there is a lot lot more to chakras that I am not aware of right now. I will keep sharing as and when I get to learn more on this. Also, those of you, who know on chakras, can share with us :)

Next let us come to the flow of this energy. As I told in the beginning, the flow of energy is through the nadis.

Sushumna Nadi

It is the central channel of energy in the human body. It runs from the base of the spine, directly along the spine to the crown of the head, and carries energy or life force upwards. All the 7 charkas lie along the sushumna nadi.

I will write in details, on nadis, in my next post :) Cheers!

Image Source: 1

Also Read
Holistic or Athletic Approach to Fitness

This entry was posted in Fitness, Yoga/Ayurveda and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The 7 Energy Centers in the Body

  1. Sahiba says:

    well explained nidhi… :) i will also write on these chakras.. :)

  2. Chandan kaur says:

    Interesting post Nidhi:)

  3. Lakshmi says:

    Amazing nidhi.

  4. Chitra says:

    I have read a beautiful book on Chakras. I was made to go through a guided meditation about the Kundalini Chakras while I was in my Meditation Course in Bangalore Art Of Living Ashram, last december and May. It really feels so good.

    • Nidhi says:

      woww Chitra, you should share your experiences with us :)

      • Chitra says:

        NIdhi, its something which can’t be shared. Meditation itself is a boon. And meditating with 100s of people and at a place which has got so much of cosmic energy is really a blessing. I had always wanted to meditate right from my teenage. It took me almost a decade to get the Guru I was yearning and searching for.
        It was really an awesome experience.
        I would share the experiences but the problem is I don’t have any pics of the course and the place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>